Author Interview – Aaron

AUTHOR INTERVIEW WITH AARON D. HODGES

14713614Aaron Hodges was born in 1989 in the small town of Whakatane, New Zealand. He studied for five years at the University of Auckland, completing a Bachelor’s of Science in Biology and Geography, and a Masters of Environmental Engineering. After working as an environmental consultant for two years, he now spends his time traveling the world in search of his next adventure.

Aaron Hodges’ debut novel is Stormwielder.

28005596For five hundred years the Gods have united the Three Lands in harmony.
Now that balance has been shattered, and chaos threatens.

A town burns and flames light the night sky. Hunted and alone, seventeen year old Eric flees through the wreckage. The mob grows closer, baying for the blood of their tormentor. Guilt weighs on his soul, but he cannot stop, cannot turn back.

If he stops, they die.

For two years he has carried this curse, bringing death and destruction wherever he goes. But now there is another searching for him – one who offers salvation. His name is Alastair and he knows the true nature of the curse.

Magic.

QUESTION TIME!

What are your favorite authors?
David Gemmell and Ian Irvine are two of my favourite authors. They both have drastically different writing styles (although they both write fantasy), but I like them for different reasons. The detail of the characters in David Gemmell’s books draws me in time and again, while the world building Ian Irvine has put into the background of his novels is insane.David Gemmell and Ian Irvine are two of my favourite authors. They both have drastically different writing styles (although they both write fantasy), but I like them for different reasons. The detail of the characters in David Gemmell’s books draws me in time and again, while the world building Ian Irvine has put into the background of his novels is insane.

What are your favorite genres to write?
Fantasy and science fiction, although I have yet to publish anything in the science fiction genre.

What are your favorite aspects of writing?
Character building is probably my favourite part of writing – particularly finding out how your characters will respond when you put them in tricky situations!

What time do you do most of your writing?
I generally try to take some time out of my day to go to my local coffee shop and pen a few pages.

Do  you have any writing habits? If so, what are they?
Probably the above coffee shop part, although I didn’t always require coffee to write. Guess that’s just something that comes with age!

Do you usually type or write your first draft?
Usually I write my first draft, although I think that is changing with my nomadic lifestyle.

How long does it take to write your first draft?
Ahhhh, good question. When I’m going really well I used to be able to write a chapter a day (so a month?). But these days the process is much slower – maybe three months now…

Are you a self-publisher?  If yes, what made you decide to self-publish?If no, how was the process of finding a publisher?
Yes I am selfpublished. I tried for a few years to go the publishing route, and in the end it was just too difficult and expensive from a place as remote as New Zealand (just posting manuscripts is a mission if you’re looking for a US publisher). That, and self-publishing seems to be a more and more legitimate route to publishing.

What’s your most recent book?
Stormwielder is my first and most recent book. It is the start of a trilogy about a young man who has been ostracized and banished from society, because he possesses an uncontrollable power which reeks havoc wherever he goes. The story is about his journey to control his powers, and his redemption for all the harm he has done.

On your recent book, what inspired you to write it?
I first had the idea when I was quite young, and I guess it probably came from struggles I was going through at the time. My father passed away of cancer when I was 13, which would have been around the time I wrote the first chapter (it has been rewritten many more times in the 13 years since!). I think that is probably where the darker shine to things comes. I think my mothers strength through that time was probably where the growing hope throughout the novel springs from.

 

Interested in learning more? Check out these links.

Aaron Hodges’ Website: https://aarondhodgesblog.wordpress.com/

Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14713614.Aaron_D_Hodges

Goodreads Stormwielder: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28005596-stormwielder

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Aaron-Hodges/e/B018KY4ZIA/

Amazon Stormwielder: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0473319705/

 

Also, don’t forget to Subscribe!

 

 

One thought on “Author Interview – Aaron

Leave a Reply

