Author Interview – Lindsay

Another interview with Lindsay Marie Miller. Lindsay Marie Miller graduated from Florida State University Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature.Lindsay currently resides in her hometown of Tallahassee, Florida, where she enjoys summers under the sun, in the company of beloved family and friends.

Her debut novel, Emerald Green, is the first installment in a four-part series of young-adult romantic thrillers.

Now on with the interview:

  1. What are your favorite authors?

Nicholas Sparks, Stephenie Meyer, S.E. Hinton, Paulo Coehlo, Maggie Stiefvater, Veronica Roth, Anna Godbersen

  1. What are your favorite genres to write?

Romance, Young Adult, New Adult, Romantic Suspense, Contemporary Romance

  1. What are your favorite aspects of writing? (plot, characters, dialogue, setting,etc.)

I am very involved with the plot. Oftentimes, I can see in my mind exactly what is in store for my characters, but the way every scene unfolds is something that I pay particular attention to. You can ruin a great story by not allowing the plot to unfold in the right way. Tension, timing, and what you choose to reveal to the reader are all extremely crucial.

  1. What time do you usually do most of your writing?

My mind comes alive between 10 PM – 2 AM with stories, characters, and ideas. I can write twice as many words in that time frame as I can in an eight-hour day. I still write when the sun’s up, but the words certainly don’t come as quickly or as smoothly.

  1. Do you have any writing habits? If so, what are they?

Yes, I generally write the same scene at least three times before I’m even to the first draft stage. Once in a short-hand styled outline, second in a free-flowing manner, where I don’t hold any word back, and third in a very refined, polished structure, which serves as the prototype for the first draft. As they say, writing is re-writing.

  1. Do you usually type or write your first draft?

I would much rather handwrite my story out first, and then type each chapter as I go along. It makes the editing/polishing process a whole lot easier for me. I guess there’s just something about having a pen in my hand and inking the words on a page. It’s more organic, more natural.

  1. How long does it take you to write a first draft?

I can complete a first draft in about 2-3 months. It depends on the word count of course, but that’s the amount of time it typically takes when the draft is 70,000-80,000 words.

  1. Are you a self-publisher? If yes, what made you decide to self-publish?If no, how was the process of finding a publisher?

I self-published my debut novel, Emerald Green, because Amazon and Smashwords have both developed tremendous platforms for indie authors to “pull themselves up by their own bootstraps,” so to speak. There’s a lot of work involved for a self-published author, but you retain so much creative control, as far as editing, cover art, and release dates are concerned, among other things, that the tradeoff is definitely worth it. I feel much wiser too, in terms of understanding how the publishing world works. Sometimes, experience is the best teacher.

  1. What’s your most recent book?

My most recent book is also my first, entitled, Emerald Green. The novel is a young-adult romantic thriller and the first in a four-part series.

  1. On your recent book, what inspired you to write it?

The idea for Emerald Green came to me about 7 years ago, when I was sixteen. I was reflecting on a short story that I had written for an English class about 2 years earlier. The story was about a mysterious new student on the first day of high school, and the first girl that he talked to. Tom became the new student, and Addie became the female protagonist. The entire novel expanded from that one scene, eventually transforming into the recently released Emerald Green.

If your interested in her book check out her Twitter or Smashwords profile.

If you want to keep updated on authors like Lindsay, Subscribe here to More than Scribbles Monthly Newsletter.

2 thoughts on “Author Interview – Lindsay

Leave a Reply

