Author Interview – Kayla Krantz

Hey, it’s Monday and I have another Author Interview. This time with Kayla Krantz author of Dead by Morning. I have already read Dead by Morning and must say it is an incredible read if you like psychological murder stories with a twist. You can expect to see a full review here sometime this Wednesday.

For now, let’s do the interview. As I said Kayla Krantz is the author of Dead by Morning.  She is a big fan of thriller/suspense, paranormal, and ocult. So expect to see these elements in her books.

1. What are your favorite authors?
My favorite author is Stephen King. He was the inspiration for me to begin writing when I was little. I also like to read classic novels, mostly from Shakespeare.
2. What are your favorite genres to write?
When I started writing, I loved to write horror. However, I found that I actually have a knack for thriller/suspense so I ran with that genre and discovered it is more enjoyable for me.
3. What are your favorite aspects of writing? (plot, characters, dialogue, setting,etc.)
I love developing characters. It’s fun to create a person’s life and show it detail by detail throughout a story. I also love to brainstorm a list of plot points and have them all come together by the end of the book.
4. What time do you usually do most of your writing?
It varies. Usually I get my motivation at night, but sometimes I’ll write notes down throughout the day if I see or hear something that is inspiring.
5. Do you have any writing habits? If so, what are they?
My favorite snack for writing is a mango energy drink and a candy bar. I find it hard to write without having something to munch on during it.
6. Do you usually type or write your first draft?
I usually write my first draft. I have a fountain pen that makes writing the basic bones of my story seem more glamorous. I also have a typewriter that I use to do my edits.
7. How long does it take you to write a first draft?
Depending on the story, anywhere from 6 months to a year. If it is an installment to one of my series, I can craft it in less time because I already have the characters developed in my mind. Stories with brand new characters take me much longer.
8. Are you a self-publisher? If yes, what made you decide to self-publish?If no, how was the process of finding a publisher?
Yes, I am a proud indie author. I tried the traditional pathway for years, but my writing was too dark for most publishers. I found that trying to find the perfect agent looking for the right genre at the right time was taking more time than taking charge of my own book.
    
9. What’s your most recent book?
Dead by Morning is my most recent book. It falls around the theme of obsession. It started as a harmless high school crush. Luna never imagined it would turn to an obsession resulting in the murders of those dear to her.
10. On your recent book, what inspired you to write it?
Dead by Morning was inspired by studying the motivations of people to see what makes them do the things that they do.
Leave a Reply

