Author Interviews – Kevin

Another author interview with Kevin Kraft.

Kevin M. Kraft has been an avid writer from early childhood, growing up in upstate New York. His short fiction has appeared in a number of anthologies. He is also a novelist and a multi-award winning screenwriter and CEO of T E K Productions, a motion picture production company, in Kansas City, Missouri, where he lives with his wife and children. His inspirational thriller, MOMO, is now available, in ebook (epub) format as well as print, along with his other titles at his official website at http://kevinmkraft.weebly.com/.

You can check out MOMO’s trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBwVeVjM8Vc and DOBORO’s here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xd-73-Mcj1M

Or visit its website: http://kevinmkraft.wix.com/momo-site
There you can see the plans for the movie as well.

1. What are your favorite authors?

Michael Crichton, Robin Cook and Ray Bradbury

2. What are your favorite genres to write?

Where novels are concerned, science fiction.

3. What are your favorite aspects of writing? (plot, characters, dialogue, setting, etc.)

I love evoking an emotion investment for my readers, writing effectively so that they can leave the story.

4. What time do you usually do most of your writing?

The hours between 12am and 5am seem to be the most productive for me.

5. Do you have any writing habits? If so, what are they?

No real habits, I would say. One thing I do, as a matter of method, is to write novel chapters out of sequence, depending on what presses on my consciousness each day, and I try to write at least a chapter a day.

6. Do you usually type or write your first draft?

I think better at keyboard. I almost never ever write in longhand anymore.

7. How long does it take you to write a first draft?

It largely depends on whether or not some disaster has befallen the manuscript I’m working on, which seems a regular occurrence for me…the file will get deleted somehow or something. It’s happened, to some level or another, with every novel.

8. Are you a self-publisher? If yes, what made you decide to self-publish? If no, how was the process of finding a publisher?

I am a self-published author. I do it because 1) I’m a big DIY proponent and like being self-sufficient. 2), It allows me to control my product and have the last say in every aspect of its creation and marking—which some would argue can also be the downside. 3) I keep more of the profits, if there are any to be had. I should say, though, that I go back and forth on whether or not I’d like a traditional publisher to take me in. They DO have better promotional budgets, which can make all the difference.

9. What’s your most recent book?

As far as published books, my latest is an “inspirational thriller” (I like to create subgenres!) called, MOMO. It’s a story about a father and son on a weekend trip to the family cabin and they’re locked into a fight for survival again a terrifying monster in the woods. It’s been getting outstanding reviews, so I’m really excited about that. If you mean very latest book, that would be my “heartwarming action drama,” DOBORO THE BOTTLENECKER… After an assassination attempt nearly kills a would-be witness for the prosecution, which seeks, with the FBI, to build a case against a Japanese crime lord, he returns seven years later as a blind blues street performer to protect the daughter he had presumed dead from the man who had nearly killed him. It’s the first of a trilogy and should be available in a couple months!

10. On your recent book, what inspired you to write it?

Where MOMO is concerned, my wife! It began as a screenplay, which won an award and accolades. We tried to crowdfund it as a movie project—twice. Our efforts were, shall we say, limited, probably because I’m no salesman. My wife, believing as I did, that it’s a great story, suggested I write the novel and “get it out there.” It’s a similar story with DOBORO in that it began as a screenplay and a movie proposal, although we never did try and crowdfund it, given the lackluster MOMO campaign. But, again, I knew DOBORO was a great story. So, after success in adapting MOMO, I quickly decided to novelize DOBORO as well.

Leave a Reply

