Poetry

A/N: It’s been since elementary since I’ve written a Sonnet (Shakespearean). I’ve spent the week looking at the form and examples. Based on a private story I’ve been working, I’ve written this:

For you

Naylene Rondon

Pang and guilt have seized me

I failed you in every form

All you did was fight to be free

While I cowered in the norm

I let them take you away

I closed my eyes afraid to look

While they killed you like prey

Then erased you from every book

I failed you when you needed me most

I apologize and now I’m willing to try

We near the end now, it’s all so close

I need to think of you to remember why

I failed you and now your blood is on my hands

So for you, I will take my stand

Leave a Reply

